Tuberculosis Test

Students from countries with a high occurrence of tuberculosis are obligated to undergo tuberculosis testing if they intend to stay more than three months in Norway.

Norwegian law requires all foreign citizens from countries with high occurrences of Tuberculosis and who will be staying in Norway more than three months to take a tuberculosis test and chest x-ray within two weeks after arrival to the country.

Europe Bosnia-Herzegovina, Greenland, Kosovo, Romania and all the countries in the former Soviet Union: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Estonia, Belarus, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine and Uzbekistan.
America Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Panama, Paraguay, Peru and Surinam.
Oceania Fiji, Guam, Kiribati, Mariana Islands, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, Palau, Papua New Guinea, the Solomon Islands, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.
Asia Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei, Burma (Myanmar), Cambodia, China, East Timor, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Laos, Malaysia, Mongolia, Nepal, North-Korea, Pakistan, Philippines, Singapore, Sri Lanka, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, Vietnam and Yemen.
Africa All countries except Egypt, Mauritius, Comoros, Seychelles and Tunisia.

You can make an appointment by telephone: 22 11 99 30. The examination is done at Ullevål Hospital, Division of Lung diseases. It is free of charge.

Please make sure to cancel your appointment at least 24 hours prior to the appointed time if you for some reason are unable to meet. If you do not cancel your appointment, you will receive a bill of NOK 640 in the mail.

Contact us

International Office